The University and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) is the organisation responsible for managing applications to Higher Education courses in the UK. Its aim is to help Learners make informed choices that are right for them – guiding them, as well as their parents and advisers, through the higher education application process. Applications through UCAS are conducted using the UCAS Tariff. This is a means of allocating points to compare post-16 Qualifications used for entry to Higher Education.

UCAS have introduced a new Tariff which came into effect from September 2017. The new Tariff supports Learners applying to Higher Education, to start university or college. LAMDA’s Level 3 recognised Qualifications are included in the new UCAS Tariff. The table below shows the UCAS points assigned by grade and attainment level (Pass, Merit or Distinction).

The following Examinations are available for UCAS Points, for Grade 6, 7 and 8 only:

  • Performance
    • Acting
    • Devising Drama
    • Mime
  • Communication
    • Speaking Verse and Prose
    • Reading for Performance
    • Speaking in Public
  • Musical Theatre
  • Shakespeare Level 3


Attainment Level Grade 6 Grade 7 Grade 8 Shakespeare
Distinction 12 points 16 points 30 points 12 points
Merit 10 points 14 points 27 points 8 points
Pass 8 points 12 points 24 points 4 points


Some things to consider:

1) Not all universities and colleges use the UCAS Tariff. Around half of all course entry requirements make reference to the Tariff.

2) Use of the Tariff varies – some universities and colleges will list their entry requirements and make offers using only Tariff points; some will ask for specific Qualifications and a set amount of Tariff points; and some will request Tariff points only from specific Qualifications.

3) Tariff points are allocated to the highest level of achievement. This means that you cannot gain points for a Grade 6, Grade 7 and Grade 8 within the same subject/pathway.